Black History Month: Musicheads Essentials

Black History Month 2020
Black History Month 2020 at The Current (MPR graphic)

Each weekday in February, we'll focus on a different artist or group for Black History Month based on the artists you helped select. You'll hear a Musicheads Essential features (essentially an audio mini-documentary) throughout the day, and hits and deep cuts from the day's artist in virtually every hour.

You'll also find posts on our website dedicated to our archives for each artist, and collections of great performances, memoir highlights, remix culture, and more.

Week 1


Monday, February 3 - Prince
Tuesday, February 4 - Aretha Franklin
Wednesday, February 5 - Stevie Wonder
Thursday, February 6 - Janelle Monae
Friday, February 7 - Lauryn Hill/Fugees

Week 2


Monday, February 10 - Billie Holiday
Tuesday, February 11 - Jimi Hendrix
Wednesday, February 12 - Lizzo
Thursday, February 13 - Bob Marley
Friday, February 14 - Kendrick Lamar

Week 3


Monday, February 17 - Sister Rosetta Tharpe
Tuesday, February 18 - Miles Davis
Wednesday, February 19 - Public Enemy
Thursday, February 20 - Gary Clark, Jr.
Friday, February 21 - Tina Turner

Week 4


Monday, February 24 - A Tribe Called Quest
Tuesday, February 25 - Ella Fitzgerald
Wednesday, February 26 - Marvin Gaye
Thursday, February 27 - Mavis Staples
Friday, February 28 - Outkast

Tune in (and download our app) to help celebrate Black History Month with The Current.